In 1894, Allen M. Fletcher, the youngest son of Stoughton Fletcher, purchased the property that would become the future site of the Fletcher Memorial Library. Mr. Fletcher announced the plans to build a library as a memorial to his father, Stoughton , on July 7, 1899. S. F. Page of Boston was commissioned to draw up the architectural plans and J. H. Rogers of Middlebury was named General Contractor. The actual construction of the library began on September 14, 1899.
The Library, scheduled to open in October of 1900, purchased 6,000 books from G. P. Putnam of New York in July of that year. However, the opening was delayed until November 1, 1901 due to the replacement of marble that did not meet the specifications.
The building has long been recognized as an architectural gem, "the style being that of later English Renaissance". The main Library entrance is a free adaptation of the Winchester School in Winchester , England . The exterior is red brick, trimmed with accents of Bedford limestone on a base of Medfordgranite. Italian marble, Vermont marble and Caen stone, (quarried only in France ) all complemented by gracefully paneled Michigan Oak appoint the interior.
A Children's Wing was added to the Library in 1964 to serve the growing needs of that age group and support school needs. The addition was funded through the generosity of Fanny Fletcher, Allen's sister.
In 2004 our Renovation Project was completed. Improvements included a new rear entrance with ramp and an interior lift. Renovated space includes a Community Room, a Historical Room, and a Kitchen. The Renovation Project was in celebration of our first century of service to our community. As quoted by Governor Stickney on the occasion of the library's dedication, "Fletcher Memorial Library is truly a jewel within our community".